An Honest Review of The Cure for Wellness

Good evening gals and ghouls! First of all I would like to say thank you for bearing with me through the last couple of weeks while I’ve been a little bit M.I.A. Two weeks ago, I took a vacation to south Florida with my Grandmother, which was my first vacation in about 9 years, so it was very much needed. Just before that however, I dislocated my right wrist and I now have a cast that goes all the way up above my elbow to immobilize the joint. I am right handed so it’s pretty difficult for me to do anything. I can only type with my left hand, so this will probably take me a couple of hours to finish up.

The good news is, however, that I went out to see The Cure for Wellness the other week when I got back home, which I was very excited for, just as I am for all of the new Horror movies that are coming out this year. So, since I am slightly incapacitated due to my arm for the next month or so, I thought I would give you a 100% honest review of the film. I will do my very best not to spoil the plot twist for you cause it is quite a doozy!

Before I begin with my thoughts on this film, I do want to note that some sources are citing the genre as Sci-Fi Thriller, but I believe that this is a Psychological Thriller. Many sources (ie. Cineplex) are also saying that it is a Horror film, but I disagree. In my eyes, this film falls closer to the same genre as Shutter Island with Leonardo Dicaprio.

The Cure for Wellness is a psychological thriller that was released to theatres on February 17th, 2017. The film stars some actors that I don’t consider to be extremely popular or well known, but I do think that it helps the audience to see them as the characters rather than actors who are playing a character. The lead role of Lockhart is played by Dane DeHaan, while his female counterpart is portrayed by the beautiful Mia Goth (who is apparently Shia Lebouf’s wife of 4 years), and the villain by Jason Isaacs.

A Short Synopsis

The synopsis that is currently available on IMDb is:

“An ambitious young executive is sent to retrieve his company’s CEO from an idyllic but mysterious “wellness center” at a remote location in the Swiss Alps, but soon suspects that the spa’s treatments are not what they seem.”

Industry Reviews

Rotten Tomatoes – 40%

A Cure for Wellness is a visually-stunning work, but the abundance of style adds up to an overall hollow experience that fails to connect.” – Chris Agar, Screen Rant

An extravagant B-movie homage that is longer, darker, and more unwieldy than the genre demands, while failing to produce a character that audiences much care about at its center.”
– 
Peter Debruge, Variety

An alternately intriguing and frustrating chiller has flashes of elegance but settles for unhinged hokum with bizarre results.” – Benjamin Lee, The Guardian

My Honest Opinion

In a way, I actually disagree with some of the critic reviews. By that, I don’t mean that I thought this was the most brilliant movie I have ever seen, because it certainly is not. In theory, this film could be brilliant. Unfortunately, this really wasn’t the case but tons of reviews talk about the lack of a connection between the audience and the protagonist. Even though they’re correct, that’s not the most disappointing thing about it.

As I was walking out of the theatre, more than anything I was just confused. Half way through the movie I was able to guess a very large part of the ending, even though what I predicted wasn’t really well explained.That kind of killed the suspense for me to be honest. The other thing that confused me was the eels… I feel like they were almost redundant if that makes any sense.

I have seen a lot of different theories online in regards to what the eels mean or represent, but I really just can’t seem to figure it out for myself.

I’d like to thank you guys for reading this extremely delayed post. I wish I could have made it longer but it took me hours just to type this out because of my arm. Luckily, I get this cast off on Tuesday, March 7th so I will be back to my regular schedule this week! 

What did you all think of this film? Let me know in the comments down below.

Until next time… Keep it spooky!

Leave a Reply

